Overwatch 2 ranking system explained: How to check your rank

Overwatch 2 ranking system explained: How to check your rank
Images via Blizzard Entertainment

Written by 

Ben Williams


17th Apr 2023 14:17


Many players don't need to worry about the Overwatch 2 ranking system if they only play casually. However, competitive OW2 players will need to brush up if they want the edge. Let's get into explaining the Overwatch 2 ranking system and how to check your rank.

Overwatch 2 ranked modes

overwatch 2 ranking system check rank ranked modes
Click to enlarge

To start, Overwatch 2 has two ranked modes you can play. These are Role Queue and Open Queue. In the game, Role Queue has you select one of three Hero roles; damage, tank, and support; and locks you to said role. Open Queue allows you to pick whatever type of hero you want with every match.

If you played the original Overwatch, you unlock these right away. However, new players will need to win 50 games to unlock these ranked modes.

Overwatch 2 rank tiers

overwatch 2 ranking system check rank tiers
Click to enlarge

At the start of each season, depending on whether you're new to Overwatch 2, have played the previous season, or played the original 2016 Overwatch, you'll be placed into one of seven skill tier ranks - each with its own rankings of five to one - from bottom to top: 

  • Bronze (Divisions 5 to 1)
  • Silver (Divisions 5 to 1)
  • Gold (Divisions 5 to 1)
  • Platinum (Divisions 5 to 1)
  • Diamond (Divisions 5 to 1)
  • Grandmaster (Divisions 5 to 1)

Returning players will hold their same rank from before, albeit some adjustments made for any matches played following their latest rank update - or tweaks made for gameplay elements in Overwatch 2 if you're coming from Overwatch (2016).

For new players, however, you'll need to earn a Skill Rating in what's called "Placement Matches". After you've earned 5 wins or 15 losses, whichever comes first, you'll be given a rank in one of the divisions mentioned above.

There is also the Top 500 leaderboard which is released after two weeks into every season. Whilst there is no rank requirement to be in the top 500, it is highly likely it will mostly contain Platinum and Diamond players - due to the sheer skill worldwide.

Along with your Skill Rating, there is also a Match Making Rating (MMR) - a hidden value of your skill determined by the game based not just on your performance, but how often you play. If you don't play Overwatch 2 for a couple of weeks for example, your MMR will drop - as the game will think you might become rusty, which will increase again after you return and play more matches.

Changing your Overwatch 2 rank

overwatch 2 ranking system check rank change rank
Click to enlarge

Your Skill Rating, which is given after completing the necessary Placement Matches, determines your rank based on wins, losses, and your performance in general. You'll also have multiple Skill Ratings - one for the different Hero roles; damage, tank, and support; in both ranked modes, Role Queue and Open Queue. 

You'll gain or lose an undisclosed amount of points in your Skill Rating for every win or loss. For your rank to go up or down, the Overwatch 2 ranks system will increase or decrease your rank placement with every 5 wins or 15 losses - again, whichever comes first. 

How to check your Overwatch 2 rank

overwatch 2 ranking system check rank
Click to enlarge

To check your rank in Overwatch 2, all you need to do is head to your profile from the game's menu. Here are the steps to follow:

  1. Select the "Career Profile" option, which is in the top-right of the main menu.
  2. Make certain you have landed on the "Overview" section.
  3. The rank shown will be for "All Modes" by default, so select "Competitive" in the drop-down box. 

You will then be shown your Overwatch 2 competitive rank and stats.

Overwatch 2 rank rewards

overwatch 2 ranking system check rank rewards
Click to enlarge

After you complete Overwatch 2's Competitive Rewards Qualification challenge, you'll be able to start earning Competitive Points (CP) through wins to buy rewards like golden hero weapons and exclusive titles. Although, the amount of CP you earn with each win is determined by your rank:

  • Bronze rank win: 65CP
  • Silver rank win: 125CP
  • Gold rank win: 250CP
  • Diamond rank win: 750CP + Diamond Challenger title
  • Master rank win: 1200CP + Master Challenger title
  • Grandmaster rank win: 1750CP + Grandmaster title
  • Top 500: 1750CP + Top 500 Challenger title

Completing a certain number of competitive games will earn you additional exclusive titles too:

  • 250 games: Adept Competitor title
  • 750 games: Seasoned Competitor title
  • 1750 games: Expert Competitor title

That's all you need to know about Overwatch 2 ranks and how the ranking system works. For more on the game, check out all Prestige Titles in Overwatch 2 Season 4. Alternatively, check out how to convert CS:GO sensitivity to Overwatch 2

For even more Overwatch 2 guides, you can be sure to find them right here at GGRecon.

What is Aim Assist Legacy mode in Overwatch 2?
Best multiplayer games on PlayStation 5
Overwatch 2 updated roadmap: Characters, reworks & story changes after PvE cancellation
Overwatch 2 patch notes (May 2023): Starwatch Galactic Rescue event, Hero updates & Deathmatch release
Overwatch 2 hero pick rates: Most popular OW2 characters in Season 4