What are World Tiers & how to change them in Diablo 4

What are World Tiers & how to change them in Diablo 4
Images via Blizzard

Written by 

Hritwik Raj


3rd Jun 2023 14:24

Diablo 4 World Tiers drastically change the game in multiple ways. Diablo 4 players can tailor the difficulty to their liking, and those who can manage the higher difficulties can reap more rewards.

World Tiers change the overall difficulty of the game, adding much tougher monsters in significantly greater numbers. Here is everything you need to know about them in the game.

What are World Tiers?

Diablo 4 offers four different World Tiers in the game. The first two are available from the get-go, and you can choose between them at the start of the game. In contrast, the other two become available once you complete the game's campaign and the prerequisite dungeons in World Tier 2 and 3.

Choosing one of the first two World Tiers when starting Diablo 4
Click to enlarge

Note: Further World Tiers, such as a World Tier 5 may happen in the future, but as of the release of the game there are just four World Tiers.

That said, here are the different World Tiers available, as well as their recommended levels:

World Tier Recommended Level
World Tier 1: Adventurer 1-50 (easy mode for experiencing the story)
World Tier 2: Veteran 1-50 (hard mode for playing through the campaign)
World Tier 3: Nightmare 50-70 (entering endgame)
World Tier 4: Torment 70-100 (endgame)

World Tier 1 is best for new players who want to experience Diablo 4 for its story. In this tier, the enemies are very easy to defeat regardless of your gear and skill, and you can finish the game quite easily. 

On the other hand, World Tier 2 offers the same enemies, but they are more challenging to defeat as they inflict more damage and have increased health. To compensate for that, players with World Tier 2 will get 15% more Gold and 20% more EXP.

The in-game menu where you choose which World Tier to use in Diablo 4
Click to enlarge

Here is a more detailed look at all available World Tiers:

World Tier How to unlock Description Unlocks
Adventurer Available from the start
  • Players who are new to Diablo or want a light challenge.
  • Enemies are easy to defeat
  • Level requirement: 1 - 50
No new feature unlocked.
Veteran  Available from the start
  • Players who desire more challenge.
  • Enemies are more challenging.
  • Monster gives 20% increased XP.
  • Monsters drop 15% more Gold. 
  • Level requirement: 1 - 50
No new feature unlocked.
Nightmare You must complete the campaign and the Cathedral of Light Capstone dungeon on Veteran. 
  • Players who want a significant challenge.
  • Enemies are more formidable.
  • Monsters give 100% increased XP.
  • Monster drops 15% more Gold. 
  • Overcome 20% Resistance.
  • Level requirement: 50 - 70
  • New drops:
    • Sacred and Unique items
    • Nightmare Sigils
  • Helltides events
  • Champion monsters
Torment You must complete the Fallen Temple Capstone Dungeon dungeon on Nightmare. 
  • For extremely experienced and skilled players who want a maximum challenge.
  • Enemies are fearsome.
  • Monsters give 200% increased XP.
  • Monster drops 15% more Gold. 
  • Overcome 40% Resistance.
  • Level requirement: 70+
  • New drops:
    • Ancestral and other high-tier drops

How to change World Tiers

The map location of the World Tier statue in Kyovashad where you can change your Diablo 4 World Tier
Click to enlarge

In Diablo 4, you can change World Tier using the World Tier Statues found in big towns like Kyovashad, which serves as the game's hub area. Once you find a World Tier Statue, interact with it to change your World Tier. 

Alternatively, you can use the "Change World Tier" option available in Diablo 4's main menu to switch between World Tiers. 

Sign Up To Our Newsletter

Get exclusive news, content, and discounts sent directly to your inbox

You've joined our newsletter. Thank you!
Sorry, there has been an issue in subscribing to the newsletter.

Confused about the Helltide events or don't know how to access them? Check out our guide on what are Helltide events in Diablo 4 for more details. 

Hritwik Raj
About the author
Hritwik Raj
Hritwik has been writing about video games, manga, and anime for more than 8 years. Some of his favourite games include The Last of Us Part II, Fallout 76, Apex Legends, Genshin Impact, and the Souls series.
Why trust GGRecon?

Established in 2019, we don’t just cover games - we live them. Our expert team is full of dedicated gamers, qualified journalists, and industry insiders who collectively boast decades of experience covering gaming and esports. This deep-rooted expertise allows us to provide authoritative and nuanced perspectives first-hand from a team who are playing, and researching every game covered on our website. 

Our foundation is built on a profound commitment to editorial independence, ensuring our content remains free from external influence and advertising pressures and is held to the highest level of editorial conduct, integrity, and quality. 

Every article on GGRecon comes from rigorous research, informed analysis, and a passion for gaming that resonates with our readers. We uphold these standards through a transparent editorial policy, accessible here, which governs our processes and maintains our accountability.

How to access & use The Pit of the Artificer in Diablo 4 Season 4
Is the Diablo 4 Season 4 Battle Pass worth it? All rewards explained
Diablo 4's new Masterwork system will take your gear to the next level
How to find a Helltide Commander in Diablo 4
Here's what Duriel's Offering for Earth Day was in Diablo 4