How to get Nightmare Sigils & unlock Nightmare Dungeons in Diablo 4

How to get Nightmare Sigils & unlock Nightmare Dungeons in Diablo 4
Image courtesy of Blizzard

Written by 

Amy Eastland


4th Jun 2023 14:46

If you’re looking for a challenge in Diablo 4, then Nightmare Dungeons is what you’ll be looking for.

However, in order to unlock them, you’ll need to get your hands on sigils which are given by the Tree of Whispers. Here is how you get your hands on Sigils from the Tree of Whispers in the game and gain access to Nightmare Dungeons.

How to get Nightmare Sigils at the Tree of Whispers

To obtain Nightmare Sigils you will have to complete quests that are given to you by the Tree of Whispers. These are called Grim Favors.

Diablo 4 Nightmare Dungeon Sigils
Click to enlarge

Once you have earned 10 Grim Favors you can return to the Tree and you will be given a Cache that contains loot and has the potential to contain Nightmare Sigils.

You can also find Nightmare Sigils within Nightmare Dungeons, or craft them at the Occultist. Crafting them requires Gold and Sigil Powder, which is earned through salvaging other Sigils.

How to unlock Nightmare Dungeons

If you enjoy a challenge, then Nightmare Dungeons will offer it to you. You can use the Nightmare Sigils to unlock the Nightmare Dungeons in Sanctuary.  On top of that, you can use game modifiers that will make the dungeons even harder, and give you a much more challenging experience than ever before - with the potential for better loot.

By surviving the dungeons, you are rewarded for your efforts by getting given high-tier gear such as weapons, armor, and currency.

If you find yourself not wanting to use the Nightmare Sigils for the Nightmare Dungeons, you can also use them as a crafting component. It is entirely your choice as to how you use them, depending on what you find yourself needing them for. 

To access a Nightmare Dungeon, head to the Dungeon you want to complete and activate the Nightmare Sigil in your inventory. Not all Dungeons have Nightmare variants, and the ones that do are dictated by your difficulty setting.

Sign Up To Our Newsletter

Get exclusive news, content, and discounts sent directly to your inbox

You've joined our newsletter. Thank you!
Sorry, there has been an issue in subscribing to the newsletter.

For more guides on Diablo 4, keep reading GGRecon.

Amy was a Guides Writer for GGRecon. She has a BA (Hons) in Creative Writing and Journalism, and has previously worked for companies such as Gfinity and HITC. Her favourite games include Dark Souls 3, Elden Ring, and Crash Bandicoot Warped. When she's not at work, she's hanging out with her black cat, Shelby.

Is the Diablo 4 Season 3 Battle Pass worth it? All rewards explained
How to get the Harlequin Crest in Diablo 4 & what it does
How to get Living Steel in Diablo 4 & what it does
Here's why you should start a Seasonal Character instead of an Eternal one in Diablo 4
Use Ancestral Tempering in Diablo 4 to add new powers to your weapons & armour