What are Fields of Hatred in Diablo 4?

What are Fields of Hatred in Diablo 4?
Images via Blizzard

Written by 

Hritwik Raj


7th Apr 2023 12:03

Diablo 4 maintains its core gameplay and design, walking on the path paved by its predecessors, at the same time introducing nuances like the Fields of Hatred, which changes how PvP plays out in the game. 

Since Fields of Hatred are something new to the Diablo franchise, many Diablo 4 enthusiasts want to learn what Fields of Hatred are to be better prepared when the game launches on June 6 globally and June 2 for early access owners.

To help players out, we have prepared this handy guide explaining what are Fields of Hatred in Diablo 4.

What are Fields of Hatred in Diablo 4?

Click to enlarge

Fields of Hatred are special areas in the Sanctuary where players can engage in PvP combat to earn rare items like Seed of Hatred, Red Dust, and others. 

There are no requirements to meet to enter the Fields of Hatred in Diablo 4, and all you must do is enter the area and start looting its lucrative resources. Depending on whether you have PvP enabled, you can engage in PvP combat or totally avoid it and simply farm the loot. 

Unlike the traditional PvP system, Diablo 4 incorporates a seamless PvP system into the game's open world with the introduction of Fields of Hatred. The best part is that the game even explains why the PvP exists lore-wise. 

As per the game lore, the Fields of Hatred are areas in the Sanctuary tainted by the hatred of Mephisto. As a result, anyone who enters it gets consumed by darkness and starts attacking their fellow mortals. 

So, in short, Fields of Hatred are nothing but PvP zones in Diablo 4 where you can engage with other players to get some unique loot.

That said, whenever you enter the Fields of Hatred in Diablo 4 with PvP enabled, you can either kill a player identified as Vessel of Hatred under a given time to get additional rewards or kill enough players to become the Vessel of Hatred yourself. 

When you become the Vessel of Hatred inside the Fields of Hatred, your task is to survive for a set time. During that, you will be marked, and nearby players will try to kill you. You will get additional rewards if you manage to deal with them and survive till the timer runs out.

That concludes our guide on what are Fields of Hatred in Diablo 4. For more on Diablo 4, keep reading GGRecon. 

Hritwik has been writing about video games, manga, and anime for more than 8 years. Some of his favourite games include The Last of Us Part II, Fallout 76, Apex Legends, Genshin Impact, and the Souls series.

Is the Diablo 4 Season 3 Battle Pass worth it? All rewards explained
How to get the Harlequin Crest in Diablo 4 & what it does
How to get Living Steel in Diablo 4 & what it does
Here's why you should start a Seasonal Character instead of an Eternal one in Diablo 4
Use Ancestral Tempering in Diablo 4 to add new powers to your weapons & armour