CS:GO Ranking System: Every Rank In Order

CS:GO Ranking System: Every Rank In Order
Images via Valve

Written by 

Harry Boulton


17th Jan 2023 10:48

While fairly similar to most other competitive MMR systems, there are some key differences that make the CS:GO ranking system stand out. As one of the longest standing esports titles, CS:GO's competitive mode is the heart of the game, and thus the ranks alongside that. So, if you want to find out more about the CS:GO ranking system including every rank in order, make sure to read on below.

CS:GO Ranking System Explained

Click to enlarge

Similar to most other competitive ranking systems, CS:GO's competitive rankings are based on the gains and losses of matchmaking rating - more commonly referred to as MMR. The key thing about CS:GO though is that unlike many other games, your MMR is entirely hidden so you never know how much you're gaining or losing after each match.

You typically gain MMR after a win and lose MMR after a loss, but the amount that you receive or lose is very much dependent on your own individual performance. Going 35-6 in a dominant win will likely have you gain far more MMR than if you only went 6-15 in the same winning match for example, and it also works in the reverse losing situation too.

There are 18 ranks in total in CS:GO and there are also no rank reset periods or seasons where you will have to climb again, so if you continue to play you will only progress or falter according to your own performance. Being absent from competitive for a lengthy period of time will temporarily suspend your rank however, and you will have to win a certain number of matches again in order to have it visible.

Every CS:GO Rank In Order

CS:GO Ranks
Click to enlarge

If you wanted to see the full breadth of the CS:GO ranking system, check out this list of every rank in order from worst to best here:

  • Silver I
  • Silver II
  • Silver III
  • Silver IV
  • Silver Elite
  • Silver Elite Master
  • Gold Nova I
  • Gold Nova II
  • Gold Nova III
  • Gold Nova Master
  • Master Guardian I
  • Master Guardian II
  • Master Guardian Elite
  • Distinguished Master Guardian
  • Legendary Eagle
  • Legendary Eagle Master
  • Supreme Master First Class
  • Global Elite

While most players will be striving for the Global Elite at the top, very few will actually make it there as it is only reserved for the best of the best. You will need to win a lot of games and perform exceedingly well in those games to climb that high, but if you do make it then you have something to be very proud of.

So, that's all you need to know about the CS:GO ranking system, giving you a full list of the ranks in order for you to learn. If you want to see where you place among your peers though, make sure to read our CS:GO rank distribution guide for all of the details.

Is Counter-Strike 2 coming to console? All we know about Xbox & PS5 ports
Do CS:GO skins & inventory carry over to Counter-Strike 2?
Counter-Strike 2 tick rate changes explained
All smoke grenade changes in Counter-Strike 2
Counter-Strike 2 release window, Source 2, leaks & more