God Of War: Ragnarok Just Bagged Its First Game Of The Year Award

God Of War: Ragnarok Just Bagged Its First Game Of The Year Award
Images via Sony Santa Monica | FromSoftware

Written by 

Tarran Stockton


1st Dec 2022 13:35

In what's expected to be the first of many, God of War Ragnarök has just received its first game of the year award, ushering in the awards season where we look back fondly on the year of video game releases. 

God Of War: Ragnarök Just Bagged Its First Game Of The Year Award

God Of War: Ragnarök Just Bagged Its First Game Of The Year Award
Click to enlarge

The final month of the year is now here, and 2022 is drawing to a close, meaning it's time for games media to begin declaring their game of the year winners. In a decision that has surprised no one, God of War Ragnarök has earned its first game of the year award, with TIME magazine crowning it in their 10 best games of 2022 list. 

In their top 10 list, written by Richard Newby, God of War Ragnarök eclipsed the other clear game of the year favourite Elden Ring, while also beating out acclaimed titles like Horizon Forbidden West and The Quarry. In the article, Newby says Ragnarök "is what all action-adventure games should aspire towards", going on further to call it "an epic and emotional saga that stands as the best game of the year". 

What Are The Other Game Of The Year Contenders?

While God of War Ragnarök is one game that's certain to be on the receiving end of many more GOTY awards, most people are in agreement that there's only one other title that could beat it in terms of awards given - Elden Ring

FromSoftware's masterpiece released back in February this year, smashing the company's previous sales records as the game sold over 17.5 million copies by October. It also recently won Ultimate Game Of The Year at the Golden Joystick awards, which is an award ceremony voted on by fans. 

Both Elden Ring and Ragnarok are up for game of the year at The Game Awards on December 8, which is seen as the premiere award ceremony for video games these days. While it's almost certain one of these two titles will take home the gold, fellow nominees Horizon Forbidden West, A Plague Tale Requiem, Stray, and Xenoblade Chronicles 3 are there for a reason, and an upset is always possible. 

Blizzard Veteran Leaves Company Following 'Toxic' Appraisal Process
Robert Kirkman Is Planning An Invincible Video Game
Square Enix Celebrates The Death Of Marvel's Avengers With Free Cosmetics
Mark Hamill Explains Why He Won't Voice The Joker Again
Star Wars Jedi: Survivor Might Not Run On Steam Deck