Everything you need to know about Nintendo Direct June 21, 2023

Everything you need to know about Nintendo Direct June 21, 2023
Images via Nintendo

Written by 

Harry Boulton

Published 

20th Jun 2023 14:50

Contents

Nintendo Directs are always an exciting time, as you never really know what is going to crop up. We could get new announcements for anything from a new Mario, to the latest farming game, but that's part of the fun of watching the showcase in the first place.

If you want to know all the things we know about Nintendo Direct on June 21 ahead of its start time, then make sure to check out the rest of this guide below.

When is the start time?

The start time for the June 21 Nintendo Direct is scheduled for 7AM PT/3PM BST, so make sure you're prepped and ready as you might need to get up quite early. If you're wanting to see the start time in a few other zones, make sure to check out the table below:

Time Zone Start Time
Eastern Time (US) 10AM
GMT 2PM
CEST (EU) 4PM
IST (India) 7:30PM
CST (China) 10PM
JST (Japan) 11PM
AEST (Australia) 00:00AM (June 22)

How to watch the Nintendo Direct?

The June 21 Nintendo Direct will be available to watch on the official Nintendo of America YouTube channel in a live stream, and we've got the video waiting for you above to make it easier than ever to watch.

What to expect at the event

As per the official description from Nintendo themselves, the Nintendo Direct on June 21 will feature "roughly 40 minutes of information focused mainly on Nintendo Switch titles launching this year, including new details on Pikmin 4."

Image of Olimar and a spaceship in Pikmin 4
Click to enlarge

Based on this information, it is likely that Pikmin 4 will either open or close the show, but other than that there could really be anything. There has been a fairly significant leak from Twitter user Pyoro - who previously correctly leaked the 1-2 Switch sequel and Sonic Superstars - that foreshadows the announcement of a new 2D Mario game and a remake of a 'SNES classic'.

Mario is always extremely exciting, even if a new 3D entry would be more of what people are looking for, but a SNES remake could really fall to anything. Titles like Chrono Trigger, Earthbound, and even Terranigma are being thrown around, but we will have to wait and see.

In terms of high-profile Switch titles still to come out this year, we could see more on Hollow Knight Silksong, alongside both the Suikoden I & II remake and Dragon Quest III Remake, which have both remained relatively quiet since being announced.

The last Nintendo Direct saw the shadow drop of Metroid Prime which practically nobody was expecting, so hopefully there will be at least one surprise on that level in this upcoming showcase.

Sign Up To Our Newsletter

Get exclusive news, content, and discounts sent directly to your inbox

You've joined our newsletter. Thank you!
Sorry, there has been an issue in subscribing to the newsletter.

If you're looking for more Nintendo content though, make sure to check out our dedicated page for the latest news and guides.

Harry Boulton
About the author
Harry Boulton
Harry is a Guides Writer at GGRecon, having completed a Masters of Research degree in Film Studies. Previously a freelance writer for PCGamesN, The Loadout, and Red Bull Gaming, he loves playing a wide variety of games from the Souls series to JRPGs, Counter-Strike, and EA FC. When not playing or writing about games and hardware, you're likely to find him watching football or listening to Madonna and Kate Bush.
Trending
DOOM The Dark Ages release window, trailers, gameplay & platforms
Indiana Jones and the Great Circle release window, trailers, gameplay & platforms
Perfect Dark finally gets a gameplay trailer, and it looks stunning
Metal Gear Solid 3 Remake gets a slick new trailer at Xbox Games Showcase
The First Descendant release date, trailers, gameplay, & platforms