Starfield early access: Release date & time, Game Pass, how to play 5 days early

Starfield early access: Release date & time, Game Pass, how to play 5 days early
Images via Bethesda

Written by 

Tarran Stockton

Published 

31st Aug 2023 15:36

Contents

Starfield early access is fantastic news for anyone who can't wait to explore all of the planets, and we've got the release date and time, Game Pass details, and everything you need to do to play 5 days early right here.

Starfield is one of the most highly anticipated games of the year, with it being the next big single-player RPG from Bethesda Game Studios, and its first new IP in over 20 years. You might need to hurry up when deciding your backgrounds and traits though, as there is a way to play the game early.

Thankfully we've got all of the details for you below, so make sure to continue reading to see the break down of Starfield's early access, and find out how to play 5 days early on PC, Xbox Series X|S, and Game Pass.

Starfield early access release date & time

an image of the Starfield early access release times
Click to enlarge

The Starfield early access release date is September 1, 2023, with a global release occurring simultaneously, so players can start playing five days early.

Find out the Starfield early access start time below, with all of the timezone details you'll need:

Time Zone Early Access Start Time
PDT 17:00 (August 31)
EDT 20:00 (August 31)
UTC 00:00 (September 1)
BST 01:00 (September 1)
CEST 02:00 (September 1)
IST 05:30 (September 1)
CST 08:00 (September 1)
JST 09:00 (September 1)
AEST 10:00 (September 1)

Jumping in as soon as the early access goes live in your timezone means that you'll be able to get started on the various skills, romance options, and even buying your own house.

How to play Starfield five days early

the Starfield special editions, showing how to play Starfield early
Click to enlarge

To play Starfield early access five days early, you will need to purchase one of the game's special editions, which are the Digital Premium Edition, Premium Edition Upgrade, or the Constellation Edition.

Securing one of these will allow you to play up to five days of early access, meaning players can begin their Starfield journey ahead of time on September 1, 2023, instead.

Xbox console players and those purchasing the game on the Xbox PC app will also be able to preload Starfield to be ready for the early access period, whereas Steam users must wait until August 30, 2023.

However, it is worth noting that there is a disclaimer with purchasing the special editions and getting Starfield early access. This states:

"Actual playtime depends on purchase date and is subject to possible outages and applicable timezone differences"

This essentially means that some players will be getting their early access time a little later depending on their timezone, and players who jump in and buy one of these editions after September 1, 2023, will obviously have less playtime prior to release. 

Can you play Starfield early access on Game Pass?

an image of the Starfield Premium Edition Upgrade, which lets you play Starfield Early Access with Xbox Game Pass
Click to enlarge

You can also play Starfield early access on Xbox and PC Game Pass, but you'll need to purchase the Premium Edition Upgrade with the same account you have Game Pass on.

The Starfield Xbox Game Pass Premium Edition Upgrade will cost you $34.99/£34.99 if you have the standard version of Game Pass, and then $31.99/£31.99 if you have Game Pass Ultimate. While this is certainly a heft cost for five days, it might be worth the price for the dedicated players out there - especially if you consider that you're getting the game for 'free' anyway.

Sadly, if you end your Game Pass subscription, you will lose access to Starfield and won't get early access five days before launch - even if you do have the Premium Edition Upgrade content - so keep that in mind.

That's all for our coverage of how to get Starfield early access, and now you know you can purchase one of the special editions to play up to five days earlier on Xbox Series X|S and PC, and with Xbox Game Pass.

For more Starfield guides, stick with GGRecon. Alternatively, check out if Starfield will have mod support.

Tarran is a Senior Guides Writer at GGRecon. He previously wrote reviews for his college newspaper before studying Media and Communication at university. His favourite genres include role-playing games, strategy games, and boomer shooters - along with anything indie. You can also find him in the pit at local hardcore shows.

Trending
16 best Starfield mods for PC
How to change FOV in Starfield on PC & Xbox
How to fix Starfield's Blast Zone mission bug
How to find all snow globes in Starfield
10 best character builds in Starfield, from Rifle to Sniper & Stealth archetypes