How to customize & switch stances in Star Wars Jedi: Survivor

How to customize & switch stances in Star Wars Jedi: Survivor
Courtesy of EA

Written by 

Alex Garton


12th May 2023 11:07


Stances in Star Wars Jedi: Survivor dictates the way in which Cal Kestis uses his Lightsaber in combat, with each of the options having its own strengths and weaknesses - so it's crucial to know how to change them.

Instead of limiting you to one stance at a time though, the game allows you to switch between two on the fly, giving you an opportunity to change your strategy in the middle of a skirmish. In order to fully master these different stances, you'll need to know which stances are available, where to change them, and how to switch stances mid-combat.

How to customize stances

Mediation Point stance switch
Click to enlarge
Courtesy of EA

In Jedi: Survivor, you can have two stances equipped at one time, which once they're unlocked, can be changed at any point throughout your journey.

  • You can customise your stances by heading to either a Meditation Point or a Workbench which can be found on all of the planets throughout the galaxy.
  • After finding a Workbench or a Meditation Point, you'll simply need to select the 'Stances' option, where you'll be presented with a set of swap options allowing you to choose your preferred two stances.

In this menu, there's even a useful set of stat bars that show the power, speed, range, and defence of every stance. This allows you to gauge which stance is best for your playstyle and if any of the options may be better for your next encounter.

Stances swap menu in Star Wars Jedi: Survivor
Click to enlarge
Courtesy of EA

How to switch stances

Once you've equipped your two stances, changing them in combat is extremely simple as each stance is set to the left and right D-Pad on console, or the X and C keys on PC. 

You're not limited on when you can change a stance, either, so feel free to switch between the two as much as you like!

How many Lightsaber stances are in Star Wars Jedi: Survivor?

Cal Kestis holding lightsaber
Click to enlarge
Courtesy of EA

Instead of having a variety of different Lightsabers that are all built differently, Star Wars Jedi: Survivor allows players to pick from five different stances. While you'll start your adventure with just one stance - the 'Single' Lightsaber stance - over the course of your journey, you'll be able to unlock the rest.

Here are all the Lightsaber stances:

  • Single
  • Double-Bladed
  • Dual-Wield
  • Cross-Guard
  • Lightsaber with Blaster

Each stance comes with its own skill tree that can be accessed at Meditation Points and by heading to the 'Lightsaber' section. Every stance has its own set of exclusive skills, allowing you to specialise in the ones that best fit your playstyle.

Sign Up To Our Newsletter

Get exclusive news, content, and discounts sent directly to your inbox

You've joined our newsletter. Thank you!
Sorry, there has been an issue in subscribing to the newsletter.

Here's a list of all the items found in shops throughout Jedi: Survivor.

Alex is a Senior Writer at GGRecon. With a BA (Hons) in English, he has previously written for Dexerto & Gfinity. Specialising in Call of Duty & Apex Legends, he loves (attempting) to improve his aim in competitive shooters and will always make time for a single-player RPG.

How to unlock Holotactics & beat every opponent in Star Wars Jedi: Survivor
How to find and beat Rancor in Star Wars Jedi: Survivor
How to reach the stables treasure in Star Wars Jedi: Survivor
Star Wars Jedi: Survivor New Game Plus explained - New Lightsaber colours, Perks & more
How to find the Abandoned Shack in Star Wars Jedi Survivor