Is Final Fantasy 16 an open world game?

Is Final Fantasy 16 an open world game?
Images via Square Enix

Written by 

Morgan Truder


6th Jul 2023 15:46

Is Final Fantasy 16 open world? That's what we are going to figure out in this guide, as well as outlining all of the different locations that are featured in the latest game from Square Enix. 

Final Fantasy often changes the way it works from game to game. In the last seven years, there have been multiple games, all with different characters, combat, and worlds. This means there is no real precedent to go off.

Whether you're new to the series, or you have been playing since the very first one released in 1987, you're going to want to know if the game has an open world - let's find out.  

SPOILER WARNING: This guide may contain story spoilers, so be sure to proceed at your own risk to ensure details in the game remain a surprise.

Is Final Fantasy 16 open world? 

Final Fantasy 16, unlike its predecessor, is not open world. When asked about this very subject, the producer of the game, Naoki Yoshida, stated, “To bring a story that feels like it spans an entire globe and beyond, we decided to avoid an open world design that limits us to a single open world space, and instead focus on an independent area-based game design that can give players a better feel of a truly 'global' scale.” 

So although the game doesn’t have a massive open world, it does have huge sections across the vast world that Square Enix has built to tell this story.

All the locations you can explore in Final Fantasy 16

Although the world is not open, Final Fantasy 16 has plenty of different regions, with plenty of them being huge sections for players to explore. In total, there are 44 different locations that you can visit across Valisthea, but they all vary in size - so don’t get too intimidated by the list below. 

  • ​​Port Isolde
  • The Auldhyl Docks
  • Martha's Rest
  • Eastpool
  • The Dim
  • Hawk's Cry Cliff
  • The Velkroy Desert
  • The Dalimil Inn
  • The Jaw
  • Dravozd
  • The Krozjit Echoes
  • The Hideaway
  • Three Reeds
  • The Gilded Path
  • Tabor
  • Laetny's Cleft
  • Boklad
  • Orabelle Downs
  • Lostwing
  • Caer Norvent
  • Northreach
  • The Dragon's Aery
  • Royal Meadows
  • The Shadow Coast
  • The Edge of Infinity
  • Eistla
  • Ravenwit Walls
  • Vidargraes
  • Origin
  • The Greatwood
  • The Eye of the Tempest
  • The Kingsfall
  • Phoenix Gate Ruins
  • Drake's Head
  • Kostnice
  • Drake's Breath
  • Rosalith
  • Drake's Fang
  • The Crystalline Dominion
  • The Free Cities of Kanver
  • The Ironworks
  • The Naldia Narrow
  • Reverie
  • Drake's Spine

That is all there is to know about the size of Final Fantasy 16's world, giving you a full list of the locations that you can visit in your travels across Valisthea.

If you're enjoying the game, then be sure to check out the rest of our Final Fantasy guides so you can help Clive get by without a hitch.

Morgan Truder
About the author
Morgan Truder
Morgan is one of the Guides Writers at GGRecon. He first started writing about games for fun whilst doing his BA (Hons) in History and Film. Since then he has turned this passion into a career and was previously an Editor at VideoGamer before joining GGRecon. Despite enjoying all sorts of games, he can often be found playing Football Manager, Red Dead Redemption 2 or Sekiro.
Here are the best Queen's Blood cards & deck in Final Fantasy 7 Rebirth
These are the best party combinations in Final Fantasy 7 Rebirth
All FF7 Rebirth Lifespring locations in every region, from Grasslands to Nibel
Final Fantasy XIV: Dawntrail release date, trailers, story, gameplay & more
Final Fantasy 16 The Rising Tide DLC is launching next month - here's when