How to unlock the Palace of the Dead in FFXIV

How to unlock the Palace of the Dead in FFXIV
Images via Square Enix

Written by 

Harry Boulton


17th Feb 2023 15:58

There are a few Deep Dungeons in Final Fantasy XIV so far, and if you've just got to Heavensward you might want to enter the first one. So, check out the rest of this guide to find out how to unlock the Palace of the Dead

Unlocking the Palace of the Dead

To unlock the Palace of the Dead in FFXIV you must first complete the Feature Quest 'The House That Death Built'. To get this quest, you must be at least Level 17 and have completed the 'Into a Copper Hell' Main Story Quest.

You will need to speak to both the Wood Wailer expeditionary at Issom-Har (South Shroud) and the Wood Wailer expeditionary captain at Quarrymill (South Shroud). Speaking to the captain at Quarrymill will give you the Deep Dungeon interface, in which you can enter the Palace of the Dead.

To do so, look under the 'Commands' section and press on 'Enter the Palace of the Dead'. From there, select one of the two save slots, and then you'll be good to go.

You must ensure that your character is either a Disciple of War or a Disciple of Magic before entering and that your party has no more than four players. You're given a time limit of 60 minutes, and you can additionally choose to start from floor 51 once you've reached it for the first time.

How To Unlock the Palace of the Dead in FFXIV
Click to enlarge

What is the Palace of the Dead in FFXIV?

The Palace of the Dead is a roguelite-style 'Deep Dungeon', where players will progress through various floors filled with enemies. It is the first of three Deep Dungeons currently available in the game and was introduced during the Heavensward expansion.

There are 200 floors in total that you can clear, and dying or backing out at any point will reset your progress. There are also various quests that unlock once you reach certain floor checkpoints like 50 and 100, allowing you to pick up extra rewards.

What Is The Palace of the Dead in FFXIV?
Click to enlarge

When inside the Palace of the Dead you will start at Level One regardless of your current job or character level, progressing through the ranks with the XP that you earn inside of the Palace. This level is independent of your character outside of this Deep Dungeon, and the XP gained by your actual character is different and a fixed amount.

Sign Up To Our Newsletter

Get exclusive news, content, and discounts sent directly to your inbox

You've joined our newsletter. Thank you!
Sorry, there has been an issue in subscribing to the newsletter.

Wondering how to buy a house in FFXIV? Check out this guide for all of the details.

Harry Boulton
About the author
Harry Boulton
Harry is a Guides Writer at GGRecon, having completed a Masters of Research degree in Film Studies. Previously a freelance writer for PCGamesN, The Loadout, and Red Bull Gaming, he loves playing a wide variety of games from the Souls series to JRPGs, Counter-Strike, and EA FC. When not playing or writing about games and hardware, you're likely to find him watching football or listening to Madonna and Kate Bush.
Why trust GGRecon?

Established in 2019, we don’t just cover games - we live them. Our expert team is full of dedicated gamers, qualified journalists, and industry insiders who collectively boast decades of experience covering gaming and esports. This deep-rooted expertise allows us to provide authoritative and nuanced perspectives first-hand from a team who are playing, and researching every game covered on our website. 

Our foundation is built on a profound commitment to editorial independence, ensuring our content remains free from external influence and advertising pressures and is held to the highest level of editorial conduct, integrity, and quality. 

Every article on GGRecon comes from rigorous research, informed analysis, and a passion for gaming that resonates with our readers. We uphold these standards through a transparent editorial policy, accessible here, which governs our processes and maintains our accountability.

These are the best party combinations in Final Fantasy 7 Rebirth
All FF7 Rebirth Lifespring locations in every region, from Grasslands to Nibel
Final Fantasy 16 The Rising Tide DLC is launching next month - here's when
Biggest story differences between FF7 Rebirth & the original
These are the best weapons for all characters in FF7 Rebirth & how to find them