Rocket League ranks & ranking system explained

Rocket League ranks & ranking system explained
Images via Psyonix

Written by 

Jack Marsh


7th Sep 2023 14:57


Keeping up with the Rocket League ranks, along with being aware of how the ranking systems work as a whole, is the best way to know just how good you are. This is a highly competitive game, with players all over the world competing to be the best.

The ranking system divides players into ranks from Bronze to Gold, to Diamond and beyond. If you want to know how the system works in Rocket League, read on.

Rocket League ranks list

An image of the Rocket League ranks icons List
Click to enlarge

The Rocket League ranks players can achieve are:

  • Unranked
  • Bronze
  • Silver
  • Gold
  • Platinum
  • Diamond
  • Champion
  • Grand Champion
  • Supersonic Legend

Within each of the ranks, excluding Supersonic Legend, the following structure applies:

  • Tiers I, II, and III.
  • Within these tiers are four divisions: I, II, III, and IV.

An example of this would be "Platinum II Division II".

The Supersonic Legend rank is one of the most welcome changes to Rocket League ranks since it was introduced. It was added at the same time the game went free-to-play and sets special players apart.

The Grand Champion rank became saturated as players began to develop their skills, with the inclusion of a new tier having gone down a treat. It gives the better players something to grind for but this rank doesn't use the tiered system. Once players hit Supersonic Legend, they are at the top.

Rocket League MMR ranking system explained

Screenshot of the Rocket League MMR tracker
Click to enlarge

Progressing through the Rocket League ranking system is pretty simple; win matches to progress through the Rocket League ranks. What the game doesn't show is MMR (matchmaking rank). This is a hidden score reserved for the rank of Grand Champion.

Players can find out their MMR before hitting Grand Champion by using a Rocket League tracker, a third-party tool. Individual performances like goals and assists don't affect MMR, but wins are the most important thing.

Players are matched up against opponents based on MMR, not in-game rank (although the two are closely related). By beating an opponent with a higher MMR more points will be earned versus someone with a lower MMR, the same goes for losing to someone higher.

What is competitive play in Rocket League?

a promo image of the Rocket League ranked mode
Click to enlarge

In competitive Rocket League, which can be found by clicking Play followed by Competitive, there are three playlists:

  • 3v3 Standard
  • 2v2 Doubles
  • 1v1 Duel

Within each game mode, you will get a separate rank. Here are some examples and key points to remember about Rocket League ranks:

  • Playing more 3v3 Standard might result in diamond rank, but may only be gold in lesser-played 1v1 matches
  • Players need to complete 10 placement games to get placed in their designated ranks for competitive play
  • Placement games let Rocket League determine a player's skill level and match with similarly skilled players
  • There are 10 matches per playlist for players with a total of 30 games until hitting three separate ranks

These three core playlists in the ranking system are the foundation of the game. While there are other modes in the game - more on those in a moment - 1v1, 2v2, and 3v3 are typically what pro players and content creators play.

In the Rocket League Championships, 3v3 Standard is quite common. Spectators will often see players such as Mariano "SquishyMuffinz" Arruda practising their freestyling skills in competitive 1v1.

It's worth noting that these competitive playlists also differ mechanically from the casual playlists. Leaving a match early without forfeiting comes with leaving penalties, and bots won't replace any players who do abandon the match.

Rocket League extra modes

Rocket League ranks: Extra Modes - Rumble, Dropshot, Hoops, Snow Day
Click to enlarge

There are more ways to play Rocket League than you might think. These aren't competitive game modes, but players can still climb the ranks after playing ten games of each:

  • 2v2 Hoops
  • 3v3 Dropshot
  • 3v3 Snow Day
  • 3v3 Rumble

Despite not being competitive, these modes still require skill to succeed. In Dropshot and Hoops, aerial duels are key, and therefore they introduced ranks so that low-skilled players weren’t overtaken by players who were much further advanced in this area.

What rewards do you earn in Rocket League? 

Screenshot of Rocket League ranks rewards
Click to enlarge

At the end of each season, Rocket League ranked players can earn rewards based on their final placement, such as car decals, wheels, boosts, and other cosmetic items.

Why play competitive mode in Rocket League? 

In a nutshell, competitive Rocket League is much more enjoyable for those who love to win. It places a higher value on getting wins rather than scoring freestyle goals. It’s not all about winning, but it's a large factor.

Having ranks to aim for and achieve sets players' goals is valued within the gaming community rather than just playing for the sake of it. It is also a great way to advance skills and become the best Rocket League player possible by rising through the ranks.

For more coverage like this, head to our Rocket League homepage to find guides including our breakdown of the Volkswagen Golf GTI hitbox and how to get fan rewards.

Jack is an Esports Journalist at GGRecon. Graduating from the University of Chester, with a BA Honours degree in Journalism, Jack is an avid esports enthusiast and specialises in Rocket League, Call of Duty, VALORANT, and trending gaming news.

13 best online & couch co-op multiplayer games on PS5 in 2024
All working Rocket League codes
How to trade with other players in Rocket League
Top 10 best Rocket League goal explosions
All Rocket Racing mechanics explained, from Drift to Turbo & more
Related Articles
Rocket Racing Ranked, Unreal Leaderboard & rewards explained
Best Rocket League settings for PC, PS5, and Xbox (Season 12)
Rocket League job listing points to possible Unreal Engine 5 swap
How to check your MMR in Rocket League Season 12
Rocket League Season 12 start date & time, Rocket Pass, new event & more