How To Form Germany In Victoria 3

How To Form Germany In Victoria 3
Images via Paradox

Written by 

Tarran Stockton


28th Oct 2022 14:35

Looking to learn how to form Germany in Victoria 3? Victoria 3 is the latest grand strategy title from Paradox, who are known for the Crusader Kings and Europa Universalis series, amongst others. While it bares many similarities to the other Paradox games, Victoria 3 focuses more on the internal management of your nation, concerning economy, population, and government. However, you can still paint the map by expanding your territory with the formation of nations, so check out how to form Germany in Victoria 3

How To Form Germany In Victoria 3

How To Form Germany In Victoria 3 before
Click to enlarge

When you begin a game of Victoria 3, Germany as we know it today doesn't exist, and in its place are a series of different nations of varying size, such as Austria, Prussia, Bavaria, Saxony, Mecklenburg, and more. Starting as any of the countries will give the potential to form the nation of Germany, but you need to meet some criteria first before you can make use of the Victoria 3 nation formation mechanic. 

If you navigate to the 'Culture' menu on the left of the screen, and select the 'Nation Formation' tab, it will show a list of nations that can be formed by the country you are currently playing. As long as large amounts of your population belong to the North German or South German culture, you should have the option of forming Germany. It's also worth noting that the North German Federation and South German Federation are formable nations, which can then be formed into Germany later, though they have their own criteria. 


To form Germany, you will need to control 19 of the 30 German states in the region and have the Nationalism technology. Some of these states are part of their own nations, while some belong to other larger nations at the beginning of a game of Victoria 3. Here are the 30 German states you should attempt to take control of to form the nation of Germany:

  • Alsace-Lorraine
  • Austria
  • Bohemia
  • Moravia
  • Styria
  • Tyrol
  • South Tyrol
  • Slovenia
  • Transdanubia
  • Pomerania
  • North Rhine
  • Brandenburg
  • Silesia
  • West Prussia
  • East Prussia
  • Posen
  • Bavaria
  • Franconia
  • Baden
  • Elbe
  • Westphalia
  • Anhalt
  • Rhineland
  • Schleswig-Holstein
  • Württemberg
  • Hanover
  • Brunswick
  • Saxony
  • Hesse
  • Mecklenburg

How To Form Germany In Victoria 3 after
Click to enlarge

Once you have 19 of the 30 states, you can click the Germany button on the Nation Formation tab, and then select 'Form Germany' at the top. This will automatically change your nation's name and flag immediately, officially forming the nation of Germany. This won't give you control of the rest of the regions you need, though you can still take control of them through Diplomatic Plays. It may also be worth getting control of them all before forming Germany.

That's all for our primer on how to form Germany in Victoria 3, and now you know what steps you need to take to create the country in-game. 

Make sure you know how to increase Bureaucracy in Victoria 3, which is a vital resource for managing more territory. 

Tarran Stockton
About the author
Tarran Stockton
Tarran is a Senior Guides Writer at GGRecon. He previously wrote reviews for his college newspaper before studying Media and Communication at university. His favourite genres include role-playing games, strategy games, and boomer shooters - along with anything indie. You can also find him in the pit at local hardcore shows.
Victoria 3 Oil Map
How To Increase Population In Victoria 3
Victoria 3 Nation Formation: How It Works
Victoria 3 Naval Invasion Explained
How To Increase Standard Of Living In Victoria 3