VALORANT Lotus Overview: Chapter 6 Act 1 New Map

VALORANT Lotus Overview: Chapter 6 Act 1 New Map
Images via Riot Games

Written by 

Joshua Boyles


6th Jan 2023 16:57

Riot Games is adding a ninth map to VALORANT, this time in the form of Lotus. It's been over six months since we last saw a new map added to VALORANT with Pearl, so fans are certainly eager for some new stomping grounds to get to grips with. What's more, players will surely be keen to learn what new gimmicks this map has to offer and how that will affect match gameplay. Here's everything you need to know about the Lotus map in VALORANT.

VALORANT Lotus: Where Is It Set?

Click to enlarge

Lotus is set in the Western Ghats of Omega Earth's India, if you're following along with the lore. While developing this map, level designer Joe Lansford took plenty of inspiration from Stepwells, Rock-Cut architecture and the Dravidian style of architecture. He name-drops Badami Cave Temples, Ellora Caves and Rani Ki Vav, if you're looking for some real-world comparisons.

"When we were exploring the conceptual aspect of this map, we wanted to push the boundaries of fantastical and mystical elements, which were not shown in our earlier maps," explains Brian Yam, a concept art lead at Riot Games. ". We wanted to explore the theme of grand adventure, mysteries lost to time, and a lost ancient structure. Indiana Jones was one of the thematic inspirations we drew from."

VALORANT Lotus: How Does It Play?

Click to enlarge

If you're a fan of the three-site layout of Haven, then you're going to love Lotus. It also has three different sites where the attackers can plant, making it the second VALORANT map to do so. "We wanted to make another three-site map and show that this is more of a format we’ll keep using than just a single map," explains Lansford. The team also wanted to make sure that there was plenty of flexibility and movement options for both attacking and defending teams.

That's not all that Lotus has up its sleeve, though. Find around the map, there are new rotating doors, a destructible door/wall, and a route where players can drop down silently to get the jump on their opponents.

We're yet to have hands-on time with Lotus, so we're not entirely sure how these mechanics work, where they're located, or how they affect gameplay. We will update this article when we know more.

Lotus will be available for players to enjoy on January 10th. That's also when Episode 6 Act 1 begins with an all-new battle pass and skin collection to purchase.

For more VALORANT guides, keep reading GGRecon.

Joshua is the Guides Editor at GGRecon. After graduating with a BA (Hons) degree in Broadcast Journalism, he previously wrote for publications such as FragHero and GameByte. You can often find him diving deep into fantasy RPGs such as Skyrim and The Witcher, or tearing it up in Call of Duty and Battlefield. He's also often spotted hiking in the wilderness, usually blasting Arctic Monkeys.

How to level up & get XP fast in VALORANT
VALORANT 8.05 patch notes introduce new agent Clove & voice indicator changes
VALORANT Clove abilities, cosmetics & how to unlock
Best VALORANT crosshair codes used by pros, from Asuna to TenZ in 2024
VALORANT 8.04 patch notes bring updates to Premier & lots of bug fixes