Europe goes open bracket!

17:56, 07 Jul 2020

Riot Games has announced the next stop for VALORANT’s Ignition Series. Mandatory.gg will be hosting a 128 team tournament from July 31st to August 2nd with €15,000 (approx. £13,500) up for grabs. According to the organiser, up to 30 teams consisting of “established professional teams and VALORANT streamers” will be directly invited. The rest of the slots is available to teams on the European server able to display that all of their members are ranked at least Platinum 1 or above. “The competition is meant to showcase the best European players and teams”, the organiser stated in a press release.

The action will be broadcast on Twitch in both French and English, with players being allowed to broadcast their POV from their respective streams until the playoffs.

With this, the Ignition Series opens its first stop in Europe, using an open bracket to qualify for the main event. The previous European stop, the G2 Esports Invitational, had counted on an all-invite bracket, randomizing teams by mixing streamers and pro players alike.

Pre-registration for the event starts on Friday, July 17th 8 pm CEST (7 pm BST) until Sunday, July 19th 11:59 pm CEST (10:59 pm BST). More information can be found on Mandatory.gg’s website here.

Mandatory.gg had previously hosted a tournament called the Mandatory Cup in early May that had a similar size, consisting of the best teams European VALORANT had to offer, including household names like fish123, HypHypHyp and NiP. With a wealth of experience and cast by "emblematic casters of the international FPS scene", Ignition Series x Mandatory.GG Cup promises to be a milestone event in the development of VALORANT esports.

GGRecon will continue to provide coverage on this event and more.


Images via Riot Games

VALORANT News & Tips
Esports Calendar