LOL

LoL player smashes past solo queue ranking barrier

LoL player smashes past solo queue ranking barrier
Image via lolesports

Written by 

Sascha Heinisch

Published 

17th Oct 2023 16:30

The 2000 LP ranked barrier on the South Korean League of Legends server has finally been broken by no other than Jeong "Chovy" Ji-hoon.

The achievement is doubly impressive considering that the World Championship is currently taking place with the best players on the planet, all practising in the same ranked location.

Therefore, Chovy isn't just the first player to hit this ranking on the South Korean server, he did it during one of the most competitive time frames in the server’s history.

The 2000 LP barrier

While the barrier had previously been broken on other servers, nobody had ever taken the final hurdle for the big 2 in the South Korean realm.

The server is largely considered to be the most competitive in League of Legends, being home to many of the world’s best players while also continuously churning out new talent.

Outside of team practices, solo queue rank is taken fairly seriously, and players who achieve high ladder positions are likely to be qualified to at least try for professional teams.

Most impressively, Chovy's current ranking looms head and shoulders above his competitors with an over 200 League Point gap between him and the second-place, former Hanwha Life Esports junger Kim "Clid" Tae-min on his account Radiohead. Players outside the top 10 are almost 500 LP behind Chovy.

Incredible consistency

Perhaps the most impressive aspect about Chovy's play is his consistency, sporting a 62% win rate over 305 games, a chance to win that few around him touch. Moreover, his LP gap implies that he consistently won against some of the highest-ranked players on the ladder, farming them for their points while growing the gap.

According to the analytics website op.gg, the Gen.G midlaner was specifically successful on K’Sante, Jayce, and Yone. During LCK playoffs, he won every game on those picks, proving his ability on those champions.

The largest discrepancy between ranked queue and professional performance can be seen in Azir, for which Chovy has a below .500 win rate in ranked while having a 73.3% chance during the 2023 LCK season on his most played champion.

Gen.G and Chovy are set to debut against GAM Esports on October 19, 8 a.m. BST / 9 a.m. CET / 3 a.m. EST / 12 a.m. PST.

Sascha "Yiska" Heinisch is a Senior Esports Journalist at GGRecon. He's been creating content in esports for over 10 years, starting with Warcraft 3.

Trending
Riot layoffs may cause 'absolute disaster' for LEC
Ultraliga suspends players amid investigation for 'match manipulation'
Riot Games lays off over hundreds, cancels Forge projects
LCK Teams release joint statement criticising Riot failings
French-Spanish rivalry smashes LEC viewership record