Epic Games is saying 'Welcome to the Party'

16:32, 27 Jul 2020

Epic Games is rounding off Diplo’s Fortnite summer residency in “epic” style and has offered players the chance to get their hands on an exclusive weapon wrap.

According to Epic Games, Diplo will be heading to the Main Stage for a live performance of Diplo Presents: Higher Ground. As well as hyping “a deep house musical show featuring trance-inducing, sophisticated beats”, there’s plenty of other tricks up Diplo’s colourful sleeves.

The 30-minute show will take place on Friday, July 31 at 2 PM ET/11 AM PT. Don’t worry if you miss out though. The Main Stage will be hosting a full rebroadcast on Monday, August 3 at 9 PM ET/6 PM PT. 

DiplowrapFortnitejpg

Arguably the biggest pull is the free music-reactive wrap. Anyone who logs in between July 30 (8 PM ET/5 PM PT) and Saturday August 1 (8 PM ET/5 PM PT) will be gifted it for free. Better yet, the “Afterparty” wrap is of rare rarity.

Elsewhere, the Envision Skin that was leaked in the v12.50 update will be landing in the Fortnite shop the day before Diplo’s show. Added to this, you’ll be able to grab the music-reactive Back Scratcher Back Bling and Light Knives Pickaxe.

The new Party Diva, Party MVP, and Party Star Skins (all of Epic rarity) will find a new home in the shop’s wardrobe options. Finally, the Nightlife Skin is making a welcome return. Even if the summer has been a bit of a washout due to the coronavirus pandemic, at least Fortnite is trying to brighten things up.

FortniteEnvisionSkinjpg

Diplo has become something of a regular on the Fortnite scene and previously popped by to promote his album, "Diplo Presents: Thomas Wesley." There’s been a huge boom in the popularity of in-game performances from musicians and tie-in events to big movies.

As well as airing of some of Christopher Nolan's biggest movies to celebrate the (now-delayed) release of Tenet, Who could forget Travis Scott’s record-breaking appearance that saw 27.7 million unique players join across the three-day special?

Here’s hoping more famous faces from the world of music make their way into Fortnite soon, but in the meantime, expect Diplo to bring the virtual house down with his farewell show.

Images via Epic Games

Esports Calendar