Modern Warfare 3 Season 2 start date, new weapons, new maps & more

Modern Warfare 3 Season 2 start date, new weapons, new maps & more
Images via Activision

Written by 

Tarran Stockton

Published 

2nd Feb 2024 12:28

We're learning a lot more about Modern Warfare 3 Season 2, such as the date is starts, and what content you expect, such as weapons, maps, Operators, and much more. 

Modern Warfare 3 was famously rushed to make its release date, causing the campaign to be panned, but the multiplayer portion has attracted lots of praise from players. The second season is set to keep the game's content fresh with a bunch of new additions, so check out when you can begin playing below.

When is the Modern Warfare 3 Season 2 release date?

Season 2 of MW3 is set to begin on February 7, at 5 pm GMT across all available platforms. Check out the table below for info on other timezones.

Timezone Start Time
GMT 5 pm
CET 6 pm
ET 12 pm
PT 9 am
AET 4 am
NZST 5 am
BRT 2 pm

New content in Modern Warfare 3 Season 2

Season 2 will introduce a number of new things - let's dive into what you can expect.

Four new base weapons are being added to the game: the BP50 AR, RAM-9 SMG, SOA Subverter BR, and Soulrender melee sword. 

For the zombies mode, this goes even further thanks to seven new Aftermarket parts to add to your weapon of choice, one of which is the JAK Limb Ripper underbarrel chainsaw.

Multiplayer is also set to be expanded with four new core 6v6 maps, an additional War map, the return of the Resurgence map Fortune's Keep. Zombies isn't getting any new maps, but it will feature a new story mission for players to experience.

One of the biggest additions is Ranked Mode for both multiplayer and Warzone, allowing you to finally climb the leaderboards and stake your claim as one of the best players.

an image of a new Operator in MW3 Season 2
Click to enlarge

For those looking to extend their Operator collection, Season 2 is introducing a bunch of undead-themed skins, with a skeletal John Doe being confirmed as one of them.

The battle pass is also back of course, with Operator skins like Rick Grimes from The Walking Dead and Station Chief Kate Laswell from the campaign on offer.

For more Walking Dead characters like Michonne and some Black History Month cosmetics, you can also check out the store once the new season drops.

We'll make sure to update this with all the major content being added once the full patch notes release. 

Sign Up To Our Newsletter

Get exclusive news, content, and discounts sent directly to your inbox

You've joined our newsletter. Thank you!
Sorry, there has been an issue in subscribing to the newsletter.

Check out our Modern Warfare 3 homepage for more guides. We've also covered the best guns and meta loadouts, the best Warzone weapons, and the best quickscoping loadouts.

Tarran is a Senior Guides Writer at GGRecon. He previously wrote reviews for his college newspaper before studying Media and Communication at university. His favourite genres include role-playing games, strategy games, and boomer shooters - along with anything indie. You can also find him in the pit at local hardcore shows.

Trending
Warzone Mobile release date, trailers, gameplay & all we know so far
All MW3 & Warzone Season 2 weekly challenges, including multiplayer & Zombies
How to check your Modern Warfare 3 stats, Combat Record, & K/D
How to get free Monster Energy Operator skin in MW3 & Warzone
All Cryptid Bootcamp Challenges & Rewards in MW3 Season 2