BLAST Premier London Groups Announced

14:44, 19 Dec 2019

The BLAST Premier circuit inaugurates with their Spring Series in 2020 with a $300,000 event being held in London, January. The groups for the event were drawn from the twelve partner teams announced earlier. The event format will have six of the teams going forward from group play that will spawn over three weekends - with each weekend featuring a single group. The groups came out as follows:


Selection Process

The teams were initially asked to self-seed, with each team putting in votes regarding where the others were placed. From that initial seeding, ‘seed pots’ or tiers were made splitting the teams into four different categories of contention from strongest to weakest.

Tier 1:

  • Astralis
  • Team Liquid
  • Evil Geniuses

Tier 2:

  • 100 Thieves
  • Natus Vincere
  • FaZe Clan

Tier 3:

  • Vitality
  • G2 Esports
  • NiP

Tier 4:

  • MiBr
  • Complexity
  • OG Esports

The top two teams from each group advance to the $750,000 spring finals, with the remaining teams having a chance to qualify through the $325,000 “showdown” event that will be held against six teams who qualify through an open circuit. The details of how BLAST Showdown will work are not yet known.

The initial Spring Series will be held at the 3 Mills Studio in London, for which fans can purchase tickets at 11am GMT on the 20th December.

You can check out our analysis and predictions here.


Image via Blast Pro Series.

Esports Calendar