MW2 Persistent Prestige Explained

MW2 Persistent Prestige Explained
Images via Activision

Written by 

Coleman Hamstead


11th Nov 2022 09:31

MW2's Persistent Prestige is a brand-new take on the classic Call of Duty Prestige Mode. As of late, climbing the Prestige Ranks for many Call of Duty players has been more pain than pleasure, as the constant anxiety of a seasonal reset looms over their heads. Those with less time to play miss out and forever lose the opportunity to collect the Prestige Rewards. Well, not anymore! With MW2 Persistent Prestige, your Prestige Rank sticks with you for the long haul.

  • Ascending the Prestige Ranks is easier with the MW2 meta weapons by your side.

MW2 Persistent Prestige Explained

Click to enlarge

Persistent Prestige gets its name because, unlike in years past, your Prestige Rank carries across seasons. At the end of MW2 Season 01, players can begin Season 02 right where they left off without losing a step.

The idea behind Persistent Prestige is to avoid punishing players who may not have as much time to play by allowing them to catch up in later seasons while still rewarding those dedicated enough to reach Max Rank.

MW2 Persistent Prestige: Ranks And Rewards


Click to enlarge

Prestige 1 in MW2 begins at Rank 56. Achieving Prestige 1 awards an Emblem, several bonus rewards, and a set of challenges. Complete the MW2 Prestige Challenges to unlock an exclusive Calling Card.

From there, Season 01 of MW2 offers four more Prestige Ranks. Each Persistent Prestige Rank comes with its own challenges and rewards. Below are all the Prestige Ranks available in Season 01:

  • Prestige 2: Unlocked at Rank 100
  • Prestige 3: Unlocked at Rank 150
  • Prestige 4: Unlocked at Rank 200
  • Prestige 5: Unlocked at Rank 250 — the Max Rank in Season 01

Expect Infinity Ward to introduce more Prestige Ranks and, in turn, increase the Max Rank each new season.

MW2 Persistent Prestige: Release Date


Click to enlarge

MW2's Persistent Prestige seasonal progression system goes live on November 16, 2022, with Season 01 of Modern Warfare 2

With MW2 Persistent Prestige, hardcore Call of Duty gamers can grind away to their heart's content in the race to be the first to reach the season's Max Rank. However, more casual players need not rush, as your Prestige Rank will carry over from season to season in MW2. Infinity Ward knows everyone goes at a different pace, so Persistent Prestige was born in an attempt to accommodate both sides of the spectrum.

So, relax! With MW2 Persistent Prestige, there's no longer a need to stress out and rush to achieve Max Rank. Go at your own speed, and the Prestige Ranks will come in due time.

Review the MW2 weapon tier list to determine which guns to bring with you on the road to Max Rank.

MW2 DMZ Key Locations: Where To Use
How To Unlock MW2 Finishing Moves
How To Fix Join Failed You Are On A Different Version MW2
MW2 1.11 Patch Notes
How To G-Walk In MW2