The action picked up and delivered highly competitive matches between Europe's best teams

22:32, 16 Jul 2020

Given that we had no upsets on Day 1 of the WePlay! Invitational, the Swiss system delivered great matches between the teams that won their matches. Both of those top tier matches went the full distance, deliver highly entertaining gameplay. NiP and G2 are moving on to the playoffs with score of 2-0 and will face each other tomorrow for seeding purposes. 

forZe vs need more DM (1-2)

Map 1: Ascent (13-8)
Map 2: Bind (2-13)
Map 3: Split (2-13)
VOD link

A solid performance from need more DM as they orchestrated a come back on Bind and Split in impressive fashion with all members on the roster pulling their own weight.

nolpenki vs Prodigy (2-0)

Map 1: Split (13-0)
Map 2: Haven (13-10)
VOD link

The first map turned into one of the hardest stomps yet in all of the Ignition Series. Prodigy put a combined 26 Kills on the board, Vakaris "vakk" Bebravičius had 20 kills. Haven became closer but still not enough to make nolpenki break a sweat.

fish123 vs Ninjas in Pyjamas (1-2)

Map 1: Haven (13-5)
Map 2: Bind  (7-13)
Map 3: Split (3-13)
VOD link

The Brits of fish123 looked dominant on Haven, showcasing their firepower impressively on the map that many call the Dust2 of VALORANT. After the first map, NiP turned it up a notch and delivered upon their potential, taking up steam as the series went on. Split never felt remotely competitive for the fish, putting some question marks on their map pool. Ascent will have to deliver for them in the next round. 

G2 Esports vs PartyParrots (1-2)

Map 1: Haven (9-13)
Map 2: Bind  (14-12)
Map 3: Split (3-13)
VOD link

PartyParrots showed that their victories in the region while the top tier teams were forming, weren't merely opportune moments for this CIS roster. Andrey "Shao" Kiprsky (+15) proved once more that he's one of the finest players in Europe and that a CIS top team of which the likes of Na'Vi & Virtus.Pro could be interested, would have to start with his recruitment. On the side of G2, Ardis "ardiis" Svarenieks stood out as the star for G2 though interestingly mostly on the Phantom. Oscar "mixwell" Cañellas is slowly but surely finding himself in his assigned role and is pushing Jett towards the limits of aggression. 

The match-ups for tomorrow are as follows:

13:00 BST / 14:00 CEST - nolpenki vs need more DM

16:00 BST / 17:00 CEST - fish123 vs PartyParrots

19:00 BST / 20:00 CEST - Ninjas in Pyjamas vs G2 Esports.

 

GGRecon will continue to provide coverage of the WePlay! Invitational.

Images via Riot Games & WePlay!

VALORANT News & Tips
Esports Calendar