CDL Points Structure & Tournament Format Revealed

17:58, 08 Jan 2020

With the opening weekend of the inaugural season of the Call of Duty League (CDL) just weeks away, Activision Blizzard has revealed the brand-new points system and tournament format that will feature throughout the duration of the season.

Introducing CDL Points

Starting at Launch Weekend taking place from January 24th-26th, 10 CDL Points can be earned for every match victory.

Beginning at the first London Home Series of the season, points will be earned depending on the final placement of the respective teams:

  • 1st – 50 Points + 10 bonus points for winning the event
  • 2nd – 30 Points
  • 3rd/4th – 20 Points
  • 5th-6th – 10 Points
  • 7th-8th – 0 Points

The standings in the CDL will be determined by the number of points that teams have accumulated over the season.

A New Format

Towards the end of 2019, Activision Blizzard revealed that tournament play would be returning to Call of Duty esports. Starting in London, the eight teams in attendance will be separated into two groups of four with the first-round games for each group being decided by the CDL.

The four teams that manage to win two games in their respective groups will qualify for a single-elimination bracket to decide the winner of the Home Series event.

In the case of any tiebreaker situations, they will be decided based on the following criteria:

  • Teams’ head-to-head match win percentage
  • Teams’ head-to-head game win percentage
  • Teams’ overall game win percentage

The regular season CDL points will decide which eight teams will qualify for the playoffs. At the end of the season, the top eight teams in the league table will qualify for the playoffs.

There will be four wildcard spaces available for teams looking to book their places in the playoffs too. The four teams will battle it out in a single-elimination bracket which will see two wildcard teams making it into the playoffs. Those teams will start a double-elimination bracket, facing the third and fourth seeds respectively.

The top two seeded teams at the playoffs will receive first-round byes when bracket play begins.

The final two teams will do battle to be crowned the first Call of Duty League Champion.

Image via Twitter/CODLeague

Esports Calendar